Sally Quilford

Sally Quilford's Website
Sally Quilford's Lulu Storefront

Personal Facts

I was born in South Wales in 1963, and moved to the Peak District in 1977. I'm married to Dennis, and we have two grown up children, three granddaughters and four West Highland White terriers. I left school at the age of 15 with no qualifications, working in a range of menial jobs until I married. At the age of 30 I returned to school and gained an A grade GCSE in English Literature. Three more GCSEs in English Language, Maths and Psychology followed. I've been studying for an Open University Degree for 8 years, taking two years out for family reasons. I now have a 2.1 honours degree in Humanities with Literature. I work at the Citizens Advice Bureau as a general advisor. I also completed a tutor training course for general advisers/volunteers and am about to embark on a course in online tutoring. Since writing this for my old site I have continued with my volunteering work and am always on the lookout for new training opportunities.

My hobbies are writing (durr!), reading, building websites (I love any excuse to create a new website), and writing. Oh I said that.

My Writing Life

I began writing at about the time I returned to education, and very quickly had two poems published. Then - nothing for about eight years, though it's fair to say I wasn't really trying. In the past two years I have been trying and now have over 50 short stories and articles featured on websites and in print.

Recently I had the pleasure of running two workshops at Wigan Words '05. The first workshop was in writing flash fiction. The second in marketing oneself as a writer. A great time was had by all and I got to meet some very interesting writers from as far afield as Canada.